Gem County Historical Village Museum
|First opened in 1973, the primary focus of the museum is the interpretation of
life in early Emmett. Beginning with the Native Americans who
first inhabited the land, the contributions of the trappers, miners, and
settlers who made the irrigation system and the fruit industry
are chronicled through a large collection of photographs as well as full
sized period displays of a general store, a turn-of-the-century parlor,
a laundry room, and a combined doctor's and dentist's office.
In addition, there is a special tribute to the men and women who have served in the armed forces; Other museum highlights include period style clothing, a rare hand hewn "laying out board" considered a nicety by families coming west with all their belongings stuffed in a wagon, a "coyote gun" used by area sheepherders, a ships lamp from the Battleship Arizona, and a broom maker used from the 1880's through the Depression.
The summer of 2009 the museum added an 800-plus square-foot addition to house the McNealy Library and Archives.
The Hunt House
This turn-of-the-century cottage holds the belongings of Governor and Mrs. Frank W.
Hunt, as donated by their daughter, Kathryn.
Frank Hunt was the fifth governor of Idaho, serving from 1901 to 1903. The Governors office was in his home, but the gaming table was in his office in the capital building.
Several pieces of the furniture in the parlor and two of the trunks came around the Cape Horn to San Francisco, then by freight wagon to Boise, so Ruth Hunt's mother wouldn't feel quite so alone in the wild west, as a new bride.The dining room is ready for entertaining guests. In the fabrics of the crazy quilt, on the baby bed, is all that remains of the ball gown Ruth Hunt wore to the first inaugural ball held in Idaho.
The Blacksmith Shop
|This is a pre-industrial fabrication facility. A variety of tools used by early blacksmiths are on display.|
|The bunkhouse displays mounted birds and animals indigenous to the county. It is also a tribute to the cattle and sheep industry that flourished here. Have you ever thought about how a broom was made? We can show you.|
Little Red School House
|The Little Red Schoolhouse provides the visitor an opportunity to step back into one of the one-room schools that dotted the Emmett Valley. This display was designed by the Emmett Retired Teachers Association, right down to the lunch pails on the shelf.There are pictures of most of the 22 schools that once served the county.What memories this little building seems to stir!|
501 E. First St, Emmett, Idaho 83617 ~ 208/365-9530
~ Copyright 2008-2012.
Unless otherwise attributed, all photos and text are the property of Gem County Historical Society
Serving Gem County since 1973.
Wednesday - Saturday 1:00pm - 5:00pm & by appointment | Extended hours during The Cherry Festival in June.