Library of Congress Photos available at the museum includes, plus many more

(click for larger images)

More at Library of Congress, Montour Photos

Pugh Elevator, Mill & Warehouse; The elevator, mill and warehouse complex was erected in stages between 1916 and 1920, on land that Harvey Pugh had used for a lumber yard. The warehouse was built in 1916. The concrete elevators were begun in mid-1919, and excavations for the mill commenced in the spring of 1920. By July of that year, the mill was ready for a roof. Machinery in the mill Pugh acquired from a mill in Roseberry. Electricity was installed in June, 1921, and flouring operations began in mid-July, 1921.

Joe Amos Barn,
on Bench land south of Montour, acquired by J. J. Amos in 1919

Farmers' & Stockgrowers' Bank,
Broadway & Main Streets, Montour

Methodist Episcopal Church of Montour,
The cornerstone of the church was
laid November 5, 1916 on land
provided by E.H. Dewey, the
railroad entrepreneur responsible for
platting the town of Montour in 1912

Montour School, combination grade
and high school, financed by a $6,700
bond issue, this two-story red brick
structure was built in 1913 to
replace Montour's first school building.

School second floor auditorium

More at the museum and at Library of Congress, Montour Photos

Copyright © 2013 - All Rights Reserved.

Unless otherwise attributed, all photos and text are the property of Gem County Historical Society

Serving Gem County since 1973.

Wednesday - Saturday 1:00pm - 5:00pm & by appointment    ::    Extended hours during The Cherry Festival in June.